Only four months have passed since President Muhammadu Buhari inaugurated his cabinet, but some of the ministers have already been advised to resign by the dissatisfied Nigerian public and civil society organizations. 

Buhari, who was elected partly on a pledge to tackle corruption and insecurity, promised to select competent and clean personalities. Nigeria received its long-awaited government after 166 days when the president swore in his “saint ministers” on November 11, 2015.

But when the list was released, many were disappointed, asking whether the wait had been worth it, and whether those selected were the best in Nigeria. 

Below is the list of ministers that have been asked to go: 

1. Kemi Adesoun
The Coalition Against Corrupt Leaders has defined Adeosun, as a misfit for the task if eventually confirmed by the Nigerian Senate. 

The National Working Committee of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) once called the minister of finance to resign due to the padded 2016 budget.

Ifeanyi Ubah of Capital Oil also wants the minister to vacate her position because of the FOREX crisis in the country. 

She was also criticised for her arithmetic goof when the minister said that the addition of 16 billion and 6 billion would amount to N24billion 

2. Lai Mohammed

Nigerians said that Mohammed has established himself as an instrument of cheap propaganda and disinformation. 

Every time the minister speaks, Nigerians call for his immediate resignation. 

3. Ibe Kachikwu
APC south-south called for the resignation of petroleum minister after his “no magic wand” comment. 

The Nigerian Labour Congress wants Kachikwu to resign for saying that it was cheaper to import refined petroleum products than refine locally. 

Nigerians are not satisfied with his activities due to the incessant fuel scarcity in the country. 

4. Babatunde Fashola
Fashola has emerged under the Buhari government as one of the most important, if not the most important president’s men. 

However, both the NLC and Trade Labour Congress, TUC ask the minister to resign for increasing the electricity tariff. 

5. Heineken Lokpobiri
Members of his home chapter of the APC ask Lokpobiri, who is the minister of state for agriculture, to relieve his post. 

6. Rotimi Amaechi
There were indications that President Buhari is under pressure from the foreign community to sack his minister of transport following his indictment for corruption. 

Amaechi is one of the most controversial ministers in Buhari’s government.

Source: Naij News


Post a Comment

News Punch © 2013 - 2017. All Rights Reserved. Site Credits: Semasir Connect