BREAKING: OBASEKI Wins Edo APC Guber Primary; See Full Results
The All progressives Congress, APC has declared Mr. Godwin Obaseki as the winner of Edo State gubernatorial primary election held at the Samuel Ogbemudia Stadium in Benin, the state capital.

Obaseki, who is believed to be sponsored by the incumbent governor, Adams Oshiomhole, polled a total vote of 1618 to defeat other contestants. Bellow is the full figure of the result

Eligible voters 2873 Delegates

1. Blessing Agbomhere =5
2. Charles Aihiavbere =11
3. Amadosun Ebegue =8
4. Emmanuel Osula =10
5. Austin Emus. =7
6. Com. Peter Esele =8
7. Bar. Ken Imansuagbon =247
8. Obaseki Godwin =1618
9. Dr. Odubu Pius =471
10. Chris Ogienwonyi =137
11. Tina Agbara =3
12. Prof Osunbor =9

Invalid. =41
Voting began at about 6pm and ended at 10:50pm.

A total of 2582 delegates were accredited to vote in the governorship primaries of the All Progressive Congress in Edo State.

These are the number of persons that presented themselves for accreditation out of a 2771 names on the delegate list.

Former lawmaker, Hon Razak Bello-Osagie described the party primaries as a show of the party’s democratic values, The Nation Newspaper reports

He said, “This is internal democracy of the party. So, I do not expect, quite naturally, any rancorous situation. Imaginary boundaries within the party should be removed so that we can have a formidable platform for the general elections. I do not see any reason we should be decipating energies on those things that will not reinforce the integrity of what we represent as change agents.

“We need a candidate whose activities are predicated on vision, purpose, integrity, leadership and service. It is a family affair, so I expect that the process will go on peacefully to the glory God Almighty and to the benefit of humanity.

Agbomehere had earlier said he would accept the outcome of the primaries as a loyal partyman that supports unity of the party.

Hon Philip Shaibu representing Estako Federal Constituency said, “That is how I see Obaseki, as one person that will take such top decisions and will continue with the infrastructural development that the governor has laid.”

On the contrary, report according to Sunday Sun suggests that the primary was marred by allegations and counter allegations of bribing delegates with huge sums of money. 

The delegates were alleged to have induced with large sums of money ranging from N100000 to N450000, in what was regarded by many as competition among the aspirants as to who would be the highest bidder. 

Tension heightened last night as some of the aspirants engaged Governor Adams Oshiomhole in hot exchange over alleged interference in the nomination process. The exchange was intermittent between the governor and Imasuagbon, one of the aspirants. 

Imasuagbon was later joined by the deputy governor and former Minister of Works, Chris Ogiemwonyi, both of whom were displeased with the governor’s frequent movement among the delegates while voting was on. It took a great effort of both security agents and some leaders to calm Imasuagbon down. 

At a stage, the atmosphere in the stadium became charged, forcing the chairman of the APC Primary Election Committee, Katsina State Governor Aminu Masari to make a public announcement, urging all delegates who has voted to leave the stadium. He was supported by the state Commissioner of Police, Chris Ezike, who also asked delegates that had voted to leave the venue, threatening: “Or we will leave with you.” 

However, he warned against the repeat of what happened in Bayelsa when thugs took over the gubernatorial primaries of the party.


Post a Comment

News Punch © 2013 - 2017. All Rights Reserved. Site Credits: Semasir Connect