The Senate on Thursday deliberated on President Muhammadu Buhari’s request for six commissioners to be confirmed for the Independent National Electoral Commission (INEC) and five commissioners for the National Population Commission (NPC).

The Senate President, Bukola Saraki read the two letters from the President during the day’s sitting, regarding the confirmation of the commissioners.

Buhari, in the letters, explained that he is seeking the confirmation in accordance of section 154 (1) of the 1999 Constitution (as amended).

The six commissioners for INEC are: Mohammed Kudu Haruna (North-central); AVM Ahmed Tijani Mu’azu (North-East); Abubakar Ahmed Nahuche (North-West); Prof Okechukwu Obinna Ibeanu (South-East); May Agbamuche Mbu, (South-South) and Dr Adekunle Ladipo Ogunmola (South-West).

The NPC commissioners are Dr. Eyitayo Oyetunji (Oyo State), Barrister Patricia Iyanya (Benue), Benedict Ukpong (Akwa Ibom), Dr Haliru Bala (Kebbi) and Gloria FateyaIzonfuo (Bayelsa).

It will be recalled that the Senate had on Tuesday expressed concern that the electoral umpire has not lived up to its responsibilities, particularly with the incessant inconclusive elections being witnessed under the current leadership of the electoral body.

Deputy Senate President, Ike Ekweremadu, who sponsored the motion, reasoned that INEC was not effective due to inability of the President to appoint Commissioners to represent about 20 States.


Post a Comment

News Punch © 2013 - 2017. All Rights Reserved. Site Credits: Semasir Connect